Taking A Dive
Mommies Boys (modern day footballers)

Blogarama-Kings of Plagiarism


Blogarama logo

It seems as the internet gets bigger so does the theft.  People think they can post your articles, recipes and photographs (as if they are the author) without getting caught.  In recent weeks I have spent far, far too long defending my stuff from thieves. Every time, I have done so I have been successful but it is stressful and time-consuming when I would rather spend my time being creative.

The biggest plum of them all without a shadow of a doubt is a site called Blogarama.com

I recently discovered that had imported a feed from my food blog without my permission, they had even created a page Chef Kevin Ashton  (which you can see below) giving the impression I have done this myself. 

Blogarama page

Worse still if you look closely Blogarama invite me to claim my own blog???

They claim that taking my RSS feed is driving traffic to my food blog, but that is simply not the case.

Although Blogarama did link the stolen content back to my blog, because they posted the whole of each post there was no need

for readers to leave Blogarama and go to my blog. And my content along with the content of 1000's of other blogs create a site that can sell Advertisements.

I belong to a similar site called BlogCatalog, but BlogCatalog does not take your RSS feed without permission.

Blogarama did not use to be the rogue site it is today, but falling traffic and then a change of ownership they now seem to be prepared to whatever it takes to raise their traffic level and thus earning potential. 

After I sent them several emails, threatening legal action, they put a block on the content, however, this does not stop the links showing up in google results with blogarama.com still labelled ON MY PICTURES
So far I have 26 different screen shots showing their theft and I have posted just a small selection to show you what I mean.

Copyright theft by Blogarama 11

Copyright theft by Blogarama 6

Copyright theft by Blogarama 21

In this process, I have also come across numerous similar complaints by other bloggers saying they too had the copyright breached. If you are a blogger, I strongly and I mean strongly, suggest you google your name together with Blogarama to see if you are also a victim of this mass fraud, here are just two examples. The first is to an article complaining about Blogarama breaching their copyright. http://www.geneabloggers.com/splog-alert-blogarama-violating-copyright/

The second example is from a blogger seeking advice on Reddit and complaining how Blogarama had not only reproduced their blog content (without permission) they wanted to charge them $9 a month for the theft!!!! please take a close look for yourself.

Reddit Blogarama


 Google, Facebook and Microsoft 
The heavyweights on the internet like google should and could do more to help protect the creative work of others. Whilst this breach of my copyright is not google's fault, it does indirectly make a lot of money from the content posted on the internet; it would show good leadership if google, Microsoft and facebook found a way to make this kind of theft harder to do and harder to get away with. As the internet continues to grow so will crime until the principle players defend the content the Web is built on. Even reporting a breach of copyright is a daunting task filled with gobbledygook that dissuades many casual bloggers from fighting back.

All over the internet, there are people willing to take your creative work, change a few words and call it their own, it is time to stop them. 

Update: Taking a person's RSS feed without permission and then charging them $9 a month to direct traffic back to them is Extortion and I strongly recommend all Blogarama members to file a complaint with the FBI (regardless of your nationality) at this address https://www.ic3.gov/complaint/default.aspx 

Not only do Blogarama hide who owns them using a company called WHOISGUARD, INC. who are based in Panama, they also hide where the site is hosted. They use a network service called CloudFlare. But you can fill in an abuse form and they will reveal who hosts Blogarama. https://www.cloudflare.com/abuse/form

©Kevin Ashton 2016



Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.


Hi! I'm the reddit comment you linked to. I have not been able to get my stuff taken off their website. Who did you email to successfully get your content taken down?

I'm ChicGeekJeanne (at) gmail.com

Kevin Ashton

Dear Jeanne,

Thank you for taking the time to find my post and read it.
Blogarama changed ownership about a year ago and this is when they started doing all this underhand taking of people's RSS feeds without permission.

First thing, google Blogarama and your name.
This should bring up any of your photos that are labelled Blogarama.com (see the examples in my post). Take screenshots so you have proof of their theft and write the details.

Secondly,be persistent, it took me a few attempts to make them take my material down. At first,their response was tough luck.
Be detailed in your complaint, try to keep your emotions restrained.

Thirdly, google DMCA Take Down Notice template.
Fill the form and send it as an attachment with the detailed email you send Blogarama.

Fourth, Since the change of ownership Blogarama is very cagey about who owns the company and shields that information.
The only name I ever got out of them was Andrew, so I suggest you address your emails to Andrew.

Fifth, If Blogarama still refuses to take down your material from their site then you need to send a DMCA Notice to the company that hosts Blogarama. Because the host will lose their own immunity from prosecution if they ignore your DMCA take down notices.
Not only do Blogarama hide who owns them using a company called
WHOISGUARD, INC. who are based in Panama, they also hide where the site is hosted. They use a network service called CloudFlare. But you can fill in an abuse form and they will reveal who hosts Blogarama.

The thing Blogarama didn't count is my ability to fight back.

If you google Blogarama you will find 2 links on page 1 to this blog post (via my google+ account) clearly telling the world that

You must fight back and use your social media accounts to spread the news, keep in touch.


I have just discovered they are using my content too, and I've been silly enough to list mysel fon their site for $9 a month which I have no stopped. I can't even sign into my account to shut it down.

Kevin Ashton

Hi Deb,
Sorry to hear you too are suffering because of Blogarama's desire to make money on other people's content whatever way they can.
Please read my reply to Jeanne for advice on how to fight back and feel free to keep me updated on how things progress.

Don't be put off.... Defend your creative work and share your experience about Blogarama on your social media sites as I am doing.

Best Wishes


Thank you for writing this. They have copied from my blog as well. It's actually slightly nauseating to see their ads plastered all over my posts.

Kevin Ashton

Thanks for sharing Cornelius.

I hope you will get Blogarama to take down all of your work so readers just go directly to your site.

Best Wishes


The comments to this entry are closed.